The 8 limbs of yoga

Unlike many spiritual traditions yoga seems to be gaining popularity in the West.

Frequency of “yoga near me” as a search term in Google UK. The dip in Spring 2020 is likely due to Covid lockdown restrictions

What we know as yoga was collated and defined by the Hindu mystic Patanjali around the third century CE. Though the word is now most often used to refer to the set of postures (asanas), these constitute only one of the eight sutras (aphorisms) or set of rules he first wrote down.

From a growing enjoyment and appreciation of yoga I’d like to learn more about the other seven “limbs” that offer guidance on how to lead an ethical life and integrate mind, body and spirit. That’ll hopefully come through posting about each of them.


The eight limbs of yoga

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s